Just another WordPress.com site

spilling stories and ripping bandages

I think this was my favourite summer.

I borrowed roommates’ clothes and ate raunchy camp food.

I ran barefoot in the grassy green field and lay on a sandy wooden dock in the afternoon sun

We swam across the lake and got stranded in a thunder storm

I learned to play guitar and let a boy hold my hand for the first time.

Sister sent packages, decorated with stickers.

In long distance call on a payphone, I laughed with mum over  my teenager attitude.

I grew in close to the father learned to really talk to him

In a dimly lit chapel we sang praises

we were asked to share

I wanted to tell of the tunnel I had crawled out of, how I was still walking toward the light sometimes blindly.

But I didn’t, I pushed the story down and buried it in shame.

Today I shared. I spilled it all to strangers. When the words were spoken, the labels

I felt them tear like sticky bandages lain on my heart.

now my eyes are heavy with sleep and sore from a downpour of tears.

Hate me for the truth

love me for the truth.

I’ll be okay, the lord will see me through

he holds my heart, a little sore and throbbing

he never lets go

listen to a bit of the story mum and I shared on the at http://www.drewmarshall.ca

interview will be posted on Friday

3 responses

  1. is that joy bible camp?!? this was our fifth summer attending family camp there. it’s been a beautiful place of healing and rest for our family, especially this summer.

    November 14, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    • Yes, it is such a lovely place, My family camps there and I worked there for two summers as a lifeguard, this was the first summer I didn’t go. Such a small world, I’m sure our paths have crossed unknowingly.

      November 15, 2010 at 1:55 am

  2. I heard you on the Drew Show. You’re a truly lovely and courageous girl. Thanks for sharing.

    December 6, 2010 at 6:15 am

Leave a Reply

