Just another WordPress.com site

gathering acorns

It was coming

spinning, squealing

out of control, soon coming to a stop

right in front of my nose

I tried to look away

pretend I couldn’t see it

but with every turn, leaves were falling and the sun was getting pushed further away.

I swam in the cold waters, as if they were warm and the sun was beating down

rather than the overcast that hung gloom through the sky.

I flipped through my Martha Stewart living and looked at summer salads and barbecue feasts

trying to keep it from coming

Somewhere deep inside my subconscious under layers of quilts and sheets I wonder if this will be the one

if this will be the winter that I make it

a mustard seed of hope

I tell myself.

I am a new girl

honest now

I’m making my team

gathering my nuts and things for hibernation

I will make it this time

I will embrace the cold winds and warm them with my heart

I will prepare my closet with thick flannels and chunky sweaters

knit socks will hang from my door

Bring it on

feet planted firm

I want to make it

I will make it

5 responses

  1. vivid and beautiful sentiments,
    I can relate.
    way to go!

    August 26, 2010 at 3:37 am

  2. honest and firmly planted, the lines in this shine through. summer isn’t quite over yet!

    August 26, 2010 at 6:46 pm

  3. Ack fall is coming! I prefer summer, as it appears you do.

    August 26, 2010 at 8:31 pm

  4. being a transplant from CA to NY I know just the feeling…summer is so different here, I actually long for it to get colder, if just to escape the humidity. loved the playful pull of this piece!

    August 26, 2010 at 11:10 pm

  5. Good luck! I like the images in this poem.

    August 26, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Leave a Reply

