Just another WordPress.com site

reflections in sliding doors

Puppy cries at the screen door

I take pictures of things growing in my garden


An ant scitters in an S formation on the speckled slab of patio and the breeze whispers a song through my ears

My garden is a living oasis for butterflies and bees

earthworms and sally bugs

Fruit bears its colours and vines grab hold of leaves and stems


A spider displays artwork on a patio chair

puppy is rolling and stumbling in the long grass

chasing little white moths

i think about the sun and clouds and how weathermen are liars

later, inside we share a juicy pear and nut butter on the hard floor of the empty house

i like to be alone just as much as I don’t like being alone.

When I’m alone I look at my reflection more

It catches my eye in a window

it taunts me as I pass the mirror in my room

I study it

only to find that freckles on my nose are out of place or that hips don’t match my shoulders

Times like this I must remind myself that I am not only for being looked at

like a statue in a park

I was made with arms that move and embrace

wrapping loved ones in hugs

warming them with my heart

I have fingers that grip brushes

and dip them in paints

creating canvas with my holy gifts

legs to run and leap and swim

A voice to sing and whisper soft secrets

and mind to know these things

and remind myself of them

repeating them in my head

until they are all I know

When I see what I’ve been made to do

the freckles fall into place and my hips line up with shoulders

Beauty is much more than we’ll know

2 responses

  1. gorgeous photos…

    August 20, 2010 at 5:31 am

  2. Hello, How are you?
    You are invited to attend Thursday Poets Rally
    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/08/25/thursday-poets-rally-week-27-august-26-sept-1-2010/

    Thanks for the attention!
    Happy Thursday!
    😉

    August 26, 2010 at 3:38 am

Leave a Reply

